Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Party time

From My Honeys work party Sunday night.

Monday, December 12, 2011

2011 Holiday Chaos

And so it has begun. Technically in November with Hannah's birthday, but now the "something every night and/or weekend" begins.

Friday night we had an extra kid for Bubba's birthday, went out to dinner and all that. Saturday we shipped the kids off for some quiet time, which equaled Christmas shopping, dinner and a late show. Good thing we had pre-purchased the tickets or we might have gone home early and went to bed. Sunday was a work Christmas party and so that ends the weekend.

This week we have something damn-near every night. Monday I go play some hockey with the women's league... Oh yes I did. I signed up for a women's league! It should give me some great game-play time with others way better than me! Tuesday is all kinds of busy, ice skating lessons for the kids, out to dinner then quick to the school for Bubba's winter program, then home quick to drop off the kids with grandma and then off to My Honey's pool league.  Wednesday the kids have a church activity. Thursday we kick back and Friday we start a weekend of family. And then we're into winter break. I'm trying to pace myself today and tomorrow getting ready for the family-bit. I have laundry and some cleaning to do and I'm debating a walk today since the sun is shining for the first time in a week. Seems worth it, but I know hockey will kick my butt tonite and I don't want to be totally broke for tomorrow .... but a little walk around the block wouldn't kill me, would it?

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Walk on the wild side

We drove up to Mission Ridge today for a walk. The kids were away so the adults went to play. We took the dog too she had a good time with her canine friend.

The air quality is about five thousand percent better up there and we even had some snow flurries. Back to the air quality: wow. Fresh. Icy. Clean. So nice. I can see myself going back up there for more.

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Saturday walk

I needed some celery for a soup so I walked to Safeway! Brrrrrrr it was 23* I think and a grey morning. I'm already tired of the grey and we are just beginning.

We had a little birthday party for Bubba at DQ last night and he receives his new .22 rifle from grandpa and dad. He was pretty thrilled. They have plans to go shooting tomorrow.

Friday, December 09, 2011

Friday hockey

What a practice today! Good stuff. We started with some fast laps around the rink, a little breather while the coach gave us directions for the next drill.

My favorite was zig-zagging through the cones up the boards to the blue line, round the top cone, pass the puck to the player in the corner, zig-zag across the blue line, round the end puck, receive the pass back, run it to the net and take a shot. So much good stuff in that one drill. The cones simulate opposing players, rounding the cones worked on our tight turns, sending and receiving passes - essential! And of course taking a shot. We can't practice that too much!!

Now if I can figure out how to deal with the aches in my hip flexors.... Hurts so good.

Thursday, December 08, 2011

Thursday

Brrrrr! Chilly today, but I did it and I was rewarded with a peek of sunshine.

Wednesday, December 07, 2011

On my walk today... Duh

Just ten degrees makes such a difference! 34* is much more bearable. I'm lucky to live where I can take a walk right after work this time of year and lucky to get done at 1:00 most days - although, the getting up at 2 am is totally killing me. I can't wait to be done with this shittin-ass shift in January. So. Ready.

In other news I m ready to give my children to a needy family for Christmas. I know I shouldn't joke like that when there are families who would give their right arm, left knee and their entire life savings for a chance at a kid, but I am sick-sick-sick of fighting with them right now. Everything is MY fault. NOTHING is fair. And I "didn't do it s/he did" is making me nuts right now.

These walks are god for working out the kinks before they get home!

I also found a new app for editing my photos. I have been using instagram and today I tried camera plus or some such thing.


Tuesday, December 06, 2011

On my walk today

Yeah. Not so clever with the post titles am I?

It was a balmy 23* today. Still okay for a sweatshirt, vest and hat. Everything was a little washed out since it was kind if a foggy overcast morning.

Monday, December 05, 2011

Morning walk

It was a wee bit chilly on my walk today, 27*. I did it tho. Here is a bit of what caught my eye.

Saturday, December 03, 2011

On my walk today

Nice up hill walk today. I saw the empty canal and then a rose. Both had seen better days. The other picture is of an imprint of a leaf on the ground.

Friday, December 02, 2011

A little Friday hockey

Practice this morning was a blast! We did a few one-on-one drills which was really fun and such useful stuff for games. For some reason I spent a fair amount of time on the ice (as in on my butt). Maybe my skates are dull. Maybe I was working really hard. Or maybe it was a dork-day. I will never know. But aside from all that it was a really great practice!

I worked with one of our youngest but really good skaters. She took it easy on me but pushed me just enough. I never felt like she was trying to out play me - which she most certainly can- and she has a real gentle spirit. Just what I needed today.

Our drills were great and so interactive with each other. Learning to take away the puck without getting a penalty, having someone skate alongside or behind you trying to get the puck. A lot of passing and a tad bit of shooting.

So how come I spent so much time on my ass? I really think my skates are a bit dull so I turned them in to get them sharpened and I think i was trying some new stuff, or trying to improve on what I can do so I was distracted, by learning and trying new stuff.

All in all I am not disappointed with practice at all. Not at all. AND let me tell you something else I have learned; I have learned that it's never gonna be right (perfect) the first time. I have realized how much practice really matters and that if you just stick with something you might actually kind of by accident get better or maybe even good at it.

On my walk today

A little wood. Some from an orchard pruning some from a raspberry patch.

Had a great hockey practice today, too. Good stuff I will post about it later.

Thursday, December 01, 2011



This guy (gal?) was very friendly.

On my walk I thought about:
How good it is to get some fresh air, I really need to make it a focus every day. Not just the walk from my car into work!
Work - blah, work.
My kids - oh they were trouble yesterday. Thankfully My Honey rescued me!
The dog - she is in heat, she didn't get to go on the walk today
Music - Nickelback has a new album out. Some of the lyrics make me giggle in an AC/DC kind of way
Orcharding - I'm not sure how to explain my connection to the trees around here, but there is one
My new phone - anyone know how I can upload photos onto my blog without having to connect it to the computer? (iPhone 4s)
Taking more pictures - I read something the other day about photography, how it can sometimes reveal something about you or whats going on inside .... These photos don't really speak much to me, or about me. They weren't actually what I would have photographed with my "good" camera; I would have taken a picture of the whole orchard and the bits that are being pruned. I would have taken a picture of the whole horse. And maybe a house.
Welcome, December. I am glad you arrived with mild temperatures.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Good Times


Hannah's birthday was great.
 

McDonald's is so the way to go!
That mess? - Not it!!!
 
A few things went ignored since there were TOYS, but all in all, a great party :)

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Detention

Strange, were we there at the same time?

I went to a musical on Saturday afternoon with my sister and all our kids because our niece was in it. Way to go Madi, she was a shining star - the one with the biggest, brightest smile. I think that girl loves to be on the stage.

What a fabulous production! Just enough going on all the time to keep all the kids involved, way, way talented kids, super great orchestra. I enjoyed myself a lot! But yes, weird to be at the school on a Saturday and not for detention ;)

I did think, as I was entering my alma mater, of things that had gone on during my HS years. Things that had transpired on those very steps over 20 years ago. The musical I was in over 20 years ago. The people I had known, the crap of HS. But more I was thinking of the kid that recently drown.

I had a really shitty work day last week. One of my calls was an office staff person at the HS saying they needed an ambulance. All she knew is that they "pulled someone from the bottom of the swimming pool." The whole room stills when a call like that is being dispatched. I think we are all in a state of hopefulness that it isn't as bad as it sounds, and the ones who pray, pray. I asked her to have someone go to the pool area and call us back so we knew exactly what we had. She called back and I happened to answer the phone again, this time she was shaken. "They're doing CPR, get someone here fast!"

The patient turned out to be a 14 year old boy. He had drown. He didn't make it. There are a lot of elements to this call that I ... well, they're just interesting, I guess. It's a small community here, everyone knows someone who was somehow involved or goes to the school or works at the school. Not only that, it reminds me of losing one of our classmates. My heart goes out to the family and his friends. The students that found him, the teacher that was in charge. The administration. Everyone. The lady I sent to the pool who never would have seen what she saw if I hadn't asked. I can't undo anything I did, and I wouldn't do it any different next time, but it still sucks. It's gonna hang around me for awhile.

On the total flip side tho, we have had a great weekend. Busy. Very busy, but great! Cupcake day at school on Friday, LK coming over Friday night. Fresh snow to play in on Saturday, the musical on Saturday afternoon, 50/50 ticket sales at the hockey game on Saturday night, going out with my sisters later and we are getting ready to head to McDonald's for Hannah's birthday party now. Whew, oh and one more thing, tickets to see Ron White tonite! THAT I am excited for!!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

From the week/end

It wasn't in time for my birthday, but we got our first snow yesterday. I'm not quite ready for it yet. BUT, maybe I will get my snow shoes and cross country skis ready just in case.

Oh yeah! That's what I was talking about. Jell-o shots in a variety of flavored vodkas.
Lemon with whipped cream vodka was my favorite.
(Yes, that is an entire cooler of them)

Sunday, November 13, 2011

Seven-Zero

What a great weekend!
Friday started with work (boo) but it was an alright day. Friday afternoon I picked up the kids from Grandmas -- That's not really what you want to hear about is it? How about some HOCKEY?
Okay!!


Friday I went to work at 3am (yeah, I know that sounds early, but hey, only 6 more weeks!!) to find my new JERSEYS!!! With my name on them!! I was so excited! One red, one white. I put one on to wear around for the day. I couldn't help myself. Silly, I know, but that's what all the jocks did in high school on a game day so I figured I could too. :) I actually ended up putting on a different Banshee shirt I had. Still, its game day, gotta support the team, right?

Our first game was at 7:30 Friday night.  Several of us were there around 7:00 to get ready. Let me tell you, the energy level in the locker room was HIGH. Several gals were saying how they had been stressed all day. I wasn't stressed so much as high-strung, excited. So excited!! Especially since I had a JERSEY! With my name on it!! We talked, changed, laughed and did some jello-shots! Gotta love my team!! Our coach came in and made position assignments; for the first game I was playing wing.

We had 12 gals on our team (which is a lot) so we had three wing-pairs and two defense pairs plus one set of centers. Lets see, to explain what that means - We play with 5 on the ice, two wing, two defense and a center. Every couple minutes we switch out. Usually there are two sets of each, wings, defense and centers, but for the tournament, due to the number of players we had three wing sets so we sat out an extra shift. Not a big deal, but it can make for a long wait. But it was so much fun! AND -- AND?? -- AND!!! I made a goal. Re-read that, wait, I will just re-type it - I. MADE. A. GOAL!!!!Seriously, no one was more surprised than I was that the puck went into the net! It never should have, but did and I will take the stat!

During the second period, I came flying down the ice, I really don't remember how I ended up with the puck but that's not the part that matters, and all of a sudden I was within shooting range, and the ice was wide open. I'm pretty sure I heard someone yell "take a shot" or "shoot it" or maybe I just thought "what the hell" it doesn't really matter, I just did it - because you miss 100% of the shots you don't take, right? The damn puck hit the pipes and then it bounced in. I could not believe it. I'm pretty sure the goalie was shocked too. But it was a goal and it was scored, unassisted, by me. Little ol' me. I'm still in a bit of shock. My coach (the one who has pestered me to play for so many years) was sooooo excited! That made it fun too.  We ended up losing the game, but, as it turns out, I scored half of our points for the whole tournament.

Saturday morning's game was at 9:15, I played defense which was new and weird and we tied 0-0. Our last game was at 4:30 and we lost that one too. It was a hard fought game though, I feel like we really rose to the level of the opposing team. I did attempt a couple shots, and got in the way of a couple and totally missed a wide open opportunity to dump one in. That will stay with me for a long time. The puck was "in the crease" (the blue half-circle right in front of the net) I was right there, RIGHT. FRICKING. THERE. and failed getting it in the net. Oh the pain. And another time I was in the wrong place, the puck hit my feet and failed to get in the net. Oh the misery. I really felt bad about that one, I saw it coming and didn't even think to jump. Man, oh, man.

My Honey was at all three games so he was good to talk to after and re-hash the good and the bad. I need to work on being less afraid. Apparently I have speed. I can go fast, but I get afraid and slow down way too soon. Me, speed? Fast? Huh. The kids and some work friends were there for my goal-game. Some other friends were there for the last game. Good times.

And weaved throughout the whole thing was my birthday. It was on Saturday so it was a fun day. It started with breakfast in bed, then the game, then out to lunch, a little nap, another game and then we dropped the kids off at the grandparents and had ourselves a little date night. We went to the arena and watched the really good teams play. That was fun, I have so far to go!

I'm sure I will think of a ton more stuff, but that's all I have for now. Super great weekend! Super. Great.

Friday, November 11, 2011

It's a hockey weekend!
My hockey weekend!

I play tonite and two games on Saturday and I'm pretty excited about the whole thing. I even got my jerseys with my name and number on them (70). The other girls worked on our jello shots last night so that will help un-fray my nerves. I've actually told some people when I'm playing. My dad and his wife will be here. And some friends from work. And.... I'm a little nervous.

But I have a jersey.
With my name on it!
It's gonna be a great weekend!

Monday, November 07, 2011

My girl, my kids

My Girl DW has done it again. Captured perfect images of my kiddles:

Thats pretty much him

Thats pretty much "them"

This is pretty much her!
Many thanks to her :)
You're mahvelous Darling.
As always

Monday, October 31, 2011

Fall

From the parks


To the flora, fauna


And the orchards

It is as beautiful here in Fall as it is in Spring

Friday, October 21, 2011

Greatness

Sunday's scrimmage was great. I was so not the worst player. I have so improved since last year. This was the first time we have played with the newbies and they were pretty fun to watch and help. Yeah, I helped! It was also fun to watch and see how far I've come. I've come a long way! I couldn't tell you if we won or lost, but we had fun doing it. I even played defense which was a kick in the pants. I'm not sure what the job is exactly, but my partner in crime was a lot of fun. Even when her daughter scored one one her!

Today's practice was great. We worked out the kinks on our backwards skating. Do you have any idea how sore your calves and ankles get skating backwards? VERY. Coach Cal tells me I've improved which was nice to hear. We were all screaming after 20 minutes of it! Then we worked on some tight turns and then we played a game. The gist of the game was to try and complete a pass to a team mate between two cones -or- to try and keep them from completing the pass. It was fast! I suppose we were supposed to be practicing our tight turns and looking up and passing, which we were without even trying. Good session today.

Later, in the locker room, one of the intermediate players said I've improved. (!!) Yay me! I was excited to hear that from one of the better players.

It's been a pretty good week, I got some house stuff taken care of, finally got laundry caught up (that'll last about a day) and I finished a really good book on leadership. "EntreLeadership" by Dave Ramsey. I'm going through it a second time it was that good to me. Just basic stuff really. Treat others the way you want to be treated, if you're a business owner work hard to run a cash-based business and work compensation for a job well done into your business plan. Not that I have any plans to run a business or even to be a supervisor, but we all lead in different ways, right? Who knows, maybe there is someone I work with who looks up to me (ha!) and what kind of an example do I set? Not to mention, being a parent. Talk about the ultimate leadership. So it applies to everyone -- if they want it to.

Sunday, October 16, 2011

What a mess




Thank goodness for mild weather, we did our carving outside. Brilliant!

We had an extra kid overnight so when I bought pumpkins this morning I bought him one too. "You bought one for ME too? Wow, thanks!" He's the kind of kid I like to have around because he strokes my ego just right, he appreciates little things like a three dollar pumpkin.

The kids had fun getting all gooey, designing just the right face and then carving them. The boys did most of their own work while Hannah and I worked together. I'm not ready for her to handle a sharp-bladed object yet.

I got out for a run this morning. I was kind of bummed though. I actually tried to count quarter mile markers ... Well, that awesome run I thought was nearly four miles? Ummmm, barely three. Dammit. I had all but given up on the half-marathon idea, but I got encouraged so I put a bug in a co-worker's ear about trying (another) shift trade. We shall see what comes of this one. I haven't had the best of luck with shift trades which was part of my total despair the other day. But, after a good run today and with a little luck maybe we can make it happen.

Hockey tonite. We are scrimmaging. I'm a touch nervous, but excited too! It should be fun!

Friday, October 14, 2011

Excellent

Stoo-pen-dus practice this morning. Small group of die-hards! Again, I was the least-best, but it's good to play with women (and high schoolers) of excellence, it moves me up a notch in my game.

We did fast drills all morning. Stuff that left me sore!!! My favorite drill today -- well they were all great-- but our last drill of the morning, a chase drill, was my favorite. We played a wing position on the boards, ran a puck up to the net with someone hot on our tail. Fast, fast, fast! Note to self: maybe practice some sprint running. I was never good at a fifty-yard-dash, and essentially that is what we were doing, on skates. Running the puck toward the net, taking a shot, stopping and then chasing the next person while they ran the puck to the net. Whew!  Totally useful in a game. Totally killed my calves and shoulders. Shoulders? Yeah. I was swinging my stick in front of me, both hands grasping it (so picture me holding it across my body) as I chased and it really worked my shoulders, but it also gave me some speed, swinging your arms will always speed you up.

We also did some drills involving position-play. We were in a wing, center, defense or "chase" position practicing chaos to get control of the puck and looking up to find our teammates for a pass. It was good. I'm not good, but the drill was very good.

AND, I got an email about some sessions that will be available before our tournament next month so we can get some warm up time on the ice. Extra skating?! Count me in (after I check the family schedule of course).

It's my long weekend, no work for four days. Looking forward to winterizing a few things, getting the yard cleaned up and relaxing. Lets start with a hockey game tonite. OKAY!

A note to you guys:  I call them "chase drill" or "position play" because its what I want to call it, not what the coach called it, it's just my way of describing it. So any hockey know-it-all who wants to correct me, fine. But I'm still gonna call them what I want. Definitely don't go play some hockey and say "well that girl on her blog said its called a chase drill." 
(I don't know, just felt the need to put that out there.)

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Focus

Fairly certain this is a heron

Another image from the walk I took today out at the confluence wildlife preserve area.

I thought I would take another stab at documenting hockey practices last week. I was pretty discouraged when I deleted everything earlier. Mighta said a few cuss words.

Friday morning we had about a dozen women. One of the things we worked on was a zig-zag drill. We skated zig-zagging up the ice. Without a puck and then with one. We did some tight turn drills (round the cones as close as you can, practicing our cross overs -- oh, they need so much work, both cross overs and my calves) and then we did a one-on-one drill. The idea is to get a feel for someone skating you down, following close or side-by-side or cutting you off or, when all else fails, running you into the boards. The thing I hated about this drill is that the opposition gets in your physical space. I have about a four-foot personal space bubble. Unless I know you well - stay the hell out of it. And even if I know you well ... sometimes 18 inches is too close. So here we are skating with someone within 18 inches or closer, remember we're on the ice too. And it hurts when we fall.

Anyway, we set up the drill, one of us was running the puck up the ice, the other person was trying to get in our space, not to get the puck, but so we get a feel for being chased and for chasing. They feel so different. I don't mind getting into someones space, but I don't like them getting into mine. Neither did my first partner. She skated up to me and says "I hate this!" Me too!! It's a really good drill, turns out we could use that zig-zag skill too. If we had thought of it :) I know the coach has a plan, we just don't follow too good! Sorry Coach!

Sunday night we were all pretty trashed. Some of us had worked all day (me) some of us had drank to excess the night before (the rest of them!) so it was pretty low energy. We did a passing drill that was pretty fun, we got into a circle of four and passed as we skated around clock wise and then counter clock wise. It will be  a much better drill when everyone is at 80% instead of 40%. We played a short scrimmage at the end which makes me excited for our tournament next month! On my birthday weekend! :)

Finally, I wanted to say about that heron. There were two of them on this little pond. They were having their breakfast. I stood and watched them and photographed them for awhile. I was struck by their focus. I keep coming back to that word recently. Their only goal was to eat, and that is what they were working on. They took a few steps, stopped, grabbed their munchie ate it up and then moved on. I don't find I focus on one thing ever. Even now I have dinner cooking (burning, maybe?) as I keep an eye on the kids in the front yard swinging hard plastic guns around as I type. I might have been focused only on the birds for a short while today, I might have been focused solely on shopping later,  but I'm sure I had other things running through my brain. I don't know, it just struck me as I watched the birds that they were focused.

Thorny


I'm trying to get motivated to do anything.
I got a little discouraged about running because some things fell apart at work and I can't get the time off guaranteed for the half marathon in Las Vegas.
I am a little discouraged about photography because my eyesight is failing. Duh, maybe I should wear my glasses when I go take photos?
I am a little discouraged about being in my forties because I have a little extra around the middle, my eyesight is failing, I can't seem to get enough sleep, or awake time or anything. Every time I work out I hurt for DAYS afterward and all that turns me pretty cranky.
I am a little discouraged at work because ... well some things just suck.

So, what's good?

Well, the weather makes the lighting beautiful.
We have tickets to a hockey game on Friday night.
Hockey is good.

(And then I type a whole bunch of stuff and then I somehow rubbed the mouse pad on my laptop and deleted it all.)

The end.

Tuesday, October 04, 2011

Winey

The highlight of my past week was a wine tour.

Friends of ours are members with Stemilt Creek Winery and invited us along to an open house on Saturday. The winery has two tasting rooms locally, one in downtown Wenatchee and one in Leavenworth. I was curious where the open house was going to be since the downtown location is pretty small and its Oktoberfest in Leavenworth so traffic and crowds of people would be a nightmare. Turns out it was at the owners house. What a beautiful property. Located south of town near an itty-bitty village called Malaga (as if Wenatchee is a huge city ....) their house is on a hill (Stemilt Hill) and looks over most of the entire valley. If it weren't for a small hill in the way you could see from Rock Island Dam to Rocky Reach Dam, it was a beautiful view.

The name Stemilt is pretty well known. The open house was at one of the owners' house so I was a little nervous about what to wear and what it would be like. Would it be a bunch of stuffy people or ...? I had a bit of a clothing crisis and after my third costume change I felt sort of ready.

We arrived at their house and were greeted by the owner Kyle. He's a big bear of a man, full of a kindness and a positive energy that is contagious. He greeted us at the door, in overalls (you know, blue denim overalls, like a farmer would wear? So much for my clothing crisis,) he welcomed us to his house, introduced himself, asked our names, shook our hands and then asked if he could give us all a hug. Seriously, this millionaire guy, in denim overalls, shaking my hand, asking if he could hug me. It was great! He told us there was a tour leaving in about 15 minutes, get signed up and he'd see us then.

What the heck, we signed up. And we are so glad we did!!! He and his right-hand man, Javier, took us around in two 15-passenger vans to see the grounds. We visited their cherry and apple orchards on the way to the vineyard. Javier was full of information about the acreage (17,000 - yes, thousand) the types of fruit they grow (several varieties of cherries and apples, pears and blueberries [which I did not know] and grapes) and their newest experiment, composting. That's quite an operation.

Once at the vineyard, we all got out and listened to Kyle talk about his grapes. The man is as passionate about his grapes as he probably is about his grand kids. He told us what they look for in color, the juice of the grape, how the seeds should look and taste like grape nuts, how they water them, why he chose the location he did for the vineyard and how they mark the rows each year so they know which ones need which kind of compost (the stuff they are making). It was amazing. We were able to sample some grapes fresh off the vine to taste, see and feel what he was talking about. Amazing.

We loaded back up, switched drivers and Kyle drove us to where they press and ferment the grapes. We all got out at the plant and listened to him tell us about the process of wine making, how the wines were named, and a little bit of the history of Stemilt. I'm local and I learned SO much from him. Even My Honey enjoyed listening to him. Our friends were into his spiel too. We loaded back up for the final trek back up the hill to his house where we ate a bit, wandered a bit and then headed home. We were on the tour for two hours! So worth it.

The thing that struck me about Kyle was his passion. He loves his farms. He loves farming and he loves to share what he knows with whomever will listen. He wasn't a boring teacher either, his zest for life is so real, his honesty about everything, the company's integrity, the stories about is family, how he came to be, so refreshing. He could be a snobby millionaire, but he's not, he's a guy that wears overalls to a wine tasting event and doesn't worry about what people will think. He is who he is. It's kind of like what I said about my Grandma's friend, he also has an inner strength of character, a confidence that he's alright, just as he is.

Everyone has something to teach us, don't they?
We just have to be open to it for the time we are allowed in their presence.
I'm thankful I had two hours in his presence.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now, about hockey. I practiced on Friday morning and on Sunday night. Both practices were great. I am learning way more about what to do in a game this year than I did last year. The coaches are working a lot on drills, and then we have a few minutes at the end to scrimmage to practice what we've just been taught.

I'm really glad I don't work early on Monday mornings this year, it makes the Sunday night practices less stressful afterward for me. Getting home around 7:30, showering and trying to wind down so I could get to bed and get up at 2am was really hard. This year I don't have that stress. Unfortunately, I won't be able to make every Friday morning practice. I'm golden through October, but I will miss a most of them in November and December. Oh well, I am very thankful for what I can do!

I know there were some things that were really good about practice, but I was so stoked about that wine tour it pretty much occupied my brain until now. Maybe since I have it out now, the hockey stuff will come back?

Until then, I'm off for a massage and the rest of my last day off.

Monday, September 26, 2011

Sunday Practice

I'm really going to like Sunday practices! The format is much more organized than last year and the coaches are doing a great job of telling us when to use what we are practicing. It is especially nice since I have Monday off now so I won't be as worried about getting sleep.

We worked our wrists last night with a TON of puck handling. Coach Cal is right, you just have to feel the puck. I was thinking about feeling the puck on my run today. I even pretended I was practicing to give my wrists some action. I'm sure it looked awesome!

Then, we broke into groups of three to practice some passing. One person was "it" and the other two took turns passing to her and then she passed back real quick-like, but accuracy was important. I remember doing this drill last year and sucking at it. I wasn't so bad this year. "It" only had to run after a couple of my passes. Much improvement from last year.

There was also a speed drill - yeah, I lost to Bird every time. She is fearless, I choke. I'm not sure how to explain this one. We did a large circle as fast as we could, whoever finished first grabbed the puck, skated it down to the goal and took a shot. The thing about doing a circle really fast is that they are really close to the boards. I know from experience that the boards hurt when you crash into them. I pushed myself a little more each time, but she was still 'da bomb! The idea is to get more comfortable going fast and going in circles, we practiced several times on each side. It's different taking a circle on your left than taking one on the right, trust me!

And then we did a little "break out" session. This was good stuff! Lots of practice doing what it is we would do during a game. We got in five lines, each line was a position (wing, defense, center). Coach would hit a puck to the net and we had to go get it, each doing what the position would do in a game. Then we got in a different line and did it again. Good stuff. Good to watch, good to practice. Good to know what to do when it happens in a game.

Games. So ... Our first home tournament is in November. My birthday weekend! Yay me, I get to turn 41 playing hockey. How stinkin cool :) Seems like I might have turned 40 on a practice day last year ... Yeah, pretty sure, practices on Friday mornings, birthday on a Friday. Sounds like a new tradition! We have another home tournament in February. I sent in my check for both of them today. Yay me!

Friday, September 23, 2011

Falling

Out for a walk yesterday I captured a few images:

I have a thing for pathways and staircases.
Where they lead ...
You will have to visit
and we will take a walk
so I can show you

I saw these poor little flowers growing in the rocks.
Then again, maybe they're strong.
Growing in the rocks.
I think it takes tough to survive like that.


Opening night for hockey season!! Looking forward to a date with my Hannah today and my Bubba tomorrow!

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Sunday

So it's been a few days, but our first official hockey practice was Sunday and it was really good. They're trying a new format this season and I gotta say, so far, so good. We started with a few stretches at center ice and even shared our names. It's funny, I played most of last year and really never got to know most peoples names. This year I hope to at least learn who five people are by name and face, should I run into them say at a "real" hockey game or the grocery store or even the park.

We stretched a bit and then did some laps of the rink both directions. We worked a LOT on stick handling. I love it. I need to get really comfortable with the puck this year. Coach Cal said I need to "Feel it. You know? There are things you just feel without seeing? You need to get to know the puck like that." Yeah, I know just what he's talking about, the first thing that came to me was my job, but the next thing was typing. We start out by hunting and pecking and sooner or later (most) of us are typing by feeling where the letters or the words are. So I am keeping that in mind as I learn to feel the puck.

 We also did some tight circles around cones. The idea is to pretend the cones are an opponent and skate around them with the puck like you would in a game. Then they had us take a shot into the net. It was good. Definitely a place to feel the puck as you approach the goal so you can fake out the goalie by staring at them not where you're going to shoot.

And at the end we did a superman drill. This is where the coach sets up several five-gallon buckets, supports a stick between them (think limbo) and we go under the stick arms first sliding on the ice in a superman-type fashion. I was well on my way down the ice when Coach Cal said something to me, distracted me and I nearly missed my chance to get flattened out and get under the stick. He has that knack, distracting me just as I need to do the thing I need to do. I don't know weather to tell him to knock it off or learn to play through the distraction. I probably need to learn to play through the distraction. In fact, that is most likely why he's doing it.

It's a very long weekend for me, in a good way, kind of a mini-vacation, I don't work until next Wednesday!! I am taking each of the kids to a hockey game this weekend (one kid on Friday, one kid on Saturday) since My Honey is out of town and hopefully I will get a couple runs in. I would still like to do a half-marathon before the end of the year, but my neck has been giving me some trouble so we shall see. Oh, and I can't get the time off guaranteed so that kind of throws a kink in making plans.

Friday, September 16, 2011

What Gets Me

So here I am to try and put into words this whole thing with my Grandma dying.

It's not that big of an emotional deal, really because we weren't close. She was my dad's mom and there was some estrangement just because of life circumstances; my dad, who logically would have been our contact to her, lived out of town. It was awkward to call her on my own and ask to see her, stuff like that. I guess part of me feels a little hurt because she never made the effort either. Ever. But I am sure it was as uncomfortable for her as it was for me. And she was a busy lady!

It did not appear she lacked for things to do. In her younger years she was an accomplished golfer, I guess she played in a lot of tournaments. She was also a card shark. People were afraid of her card playing prowess. It was fun to hear about card groups that these ladies had played in since they were thirty years old, that they had continued to be friends well into their seventies and eighties. I can't imagine, but I would like to think that I will have some of the same friends in fifty years.

Which is probably one of the most poignant things that happened. Maybe I should tell my whole story?

In 2006 my grandma was hospitalized for quite awhile. She recovered, moved into an independent living facility and all was well until the past year or so. She was in and out of the hospital several times, her kidneys were failing, she had been diagnosed with COPD and a few other things (congestive heart failure, diabetes). I visited her in the hospital earlier this year, and learned she would have to go onto dialysis soon as her kidneys were not working. I remember her seeming not too thrilled. It's a pretty suck-you-dry process and she's an active lady. She has places to be and people to see! My understanding is that she had been on dialysis maybe a month or so when she ended up in the hospital for the final time (and that she had been in several times since starting the dialysis). The dialysis wasn't working as it should, once they stopped it would just be a matter of days or weeks until all her systems would shut down.

She was completely alert when her kids and doctor talked to her to tell her what was up. It was kind of surreal to go into see someone who had just been told "this is it" and ... and what? Talk? Cry? What is the proper thing to do? Worse, was when her friends started dropping by. I wasn't sure who knew and who didn't. What to say when they promised to hold her a seat at the card game on Wednesday. That kind of stuff. Awkward.

A couple days later she was released from the hospital and moved into assisted living. Within the next day or so she was put on hospice. It wasn't long before her systems started shutting down. She was unconscious for about three days I think until she passed away with her kids at her side.

As I sat with them one afternoon, a friend of my grandmas came to visit. I don't think the friend knew how bad grandma really was. She and my aunt stood in the doorway talking in hushed tones. (This is the incident that gets me.) The friend, obviously in her eighties or so, listened to my aunt as she explained the situation. At that time Grandma was unconscious and didn't seem to know people were around. I saw the friend crumble. I could see her grief and sadness, and here's what I thought; "she's in her 80's, don't they expect their friends to be dying?" I know that sounds harsh, but it was kind of shocking almost to see her weep for my Grandma. And then I realized that she has probably always been a tender hearted person and it warmed me to know that those tender hearts in my life will always be tender hearts.

I'm still not quite sure what to do with everything that I thought and felt and experienced. I'm sure slowly more of it will solidify and be easier to put into words. For now tho, I wanted to tell the story of that tender hearted lady. I admire her strength of character, to keep her tender ways and be faithful to her friends.

That was the other part, she dropped by in the worst of times. It made me think about how I react to my family and friends' worst of times ... as many of you know, I shut down, I avoid and ignore. With realization comes knowledge, right? The word "compassion" has been on my brain for the past month or so. Maybe it's my 2012 word?

Saturday, September 10, 2011

Family

This picture is me, my sisters LK, and Dani and our dad. -- The other two girls were in heels. Sometimes I just feel tall. And slouchy. And tan.

There was a memorial service today for my grandma. There's more to tell, but that's what I'm not quite in the mood to talk about yet -- my last grandma dying. It's brought up a lot of stuff, if you know what I mean. It wasn't quite as emotional as when my first grandma passed away, they were definitely different kinds of women, but it has still brought up stuff. The event was nice, it wasn't really a memorial service, just a celebration of her life. No pressure to talk in front of a group, no pastor or preacher or man/woman of the cloth, just her good friends of 5-50 years at the golf course where she spent every day. Perfect.

Friday, September 09, 2011

Holy wow

LETS PLAY HOCKEY!!!!

We officially kicked off our season with the little pre-season meeting and scrimmage. How much fun did I have? It should be illegal how much fun I had. Okay, maybe not illegal, but everyone should have something that they love as much as I love hockey.

I don't even know where to start. With the awesome team mates I had last night that answered my questions about where I was supposed to be and what I was supposed to do? With getting to see all those quality women? There are such neat women around I just didn't know about. It wasn't for lack of trying, I guess I just hadn't found my "tribe" until now. We've got every walk of life, every religion, every age from sixteen to late 50's, all skill levels from me to ladies who have played for decades. It's awesome.

We suited up red and white, started a play clock and went for it. Somehow our team, well the offense, just meshed. We rocked it. I was having a super great time. I was left wing and my partner, Jane, was awesome. She included me in the game. THAT'S IT! She included me in the game. I never felt like I wasn't needed or a part of the team even though I'm not the best player. It was awesome. I might even have made a goal. Yep, re-read that line. I made a goal!!!!

Here's the real story: I did shoot into the net, and it was a really good shot because I was looking where I wanted to puck to go, not at the goalie, but I noticed her help the puck in. It still counted as a goal, but I know better so I'm not all puffed up about it. Well, maybe a little. But I know the truth, it never should have gone in. But it was still fun. I thanked Erin for her help and yelled at the other goalie, Kelly, when she wasn't as generous. What a great time!

So looking forward to as many practices as I can get in this year. Can't wait!!! Next practice is the 18th. Nearly 10 days! UGH ;)

Saturday, September 03, 2011

Crazy

I have this crazy idea to run a half marathon. In December. In Las Vegas. So I have set about training and eating better. I am trying to work out the beer, but it's a hard sell.

I got up early on Thursday and Friday and had nice runs in the morning at the park, today I ran after a 12 hour shift at 3 pm. Talk about a difference. I might or might not have tried to fuel up by eating a Snickers too. (Not my best moment, but at least it wasn't a 6-pack!) I am going to take tomorrow as a rest day and resume after work on Monday. I must say right now I really like the morning run best, afternoons are still a bit warmish (about 85* today, which I LOVE, unless I am ). Fall is coming though. Soon. Too soon.

School started last week so we are getting into the swing of things. Hannah is in kindergarten and Bubba is a big 4th grader this year. So far, so good. Everyone is a little tired this weekend, but I hope a few good nights rest will get us all back into it.

I took the kids out for our last camping trip the weekend before school started. We had a nice time, mostly just the three of us. My Honey stayed one night, he had to work. This trip was not without adventure either. We saw a snake. It was just a little garter snake, but still! In 40 years of living here, I can only think of ONE other time I actually saw a snake. It was just sunning itself on the bike trail one afternoon. Scared the crap out of me! So did this one, just sitting on the riverbank, staring into my eye. Actually, it definitely scared Bubba more, I was more concerned with making sure he and Hannah were okay so I hardly flinched. But still, it was looking me in the eye!

Okay so I am up-to-date? Not really. There is a lot more to tell. A TON of things have happened. I'm still sorting through some of them. Everyone is okay, I'm just chewing on some stuff. Like friendship. I watched some old women love on each other recently (old, as in 80's) and realized that I tend to fall into a "fair-weather-friend" kind of category. (Those of you that know me probably already know this, thanks for being patient with me) so I am chewing on that. Working it out. Figuring out where the balance is. I just know my tendency could be to get over-involved. Or maybe I think I do. So, later, when I have more time to think it through, I will try to remember to tell the whole story. It actually has a sad ending. I'm just not in the mood to go there right now.

Friday, September 02, 2011

Seven Hundred

Wow. 700 posts.

Here's dinner:

Shrimp and tomatoes and stuff over pasta.
Hope it's good, I'm not much of a cook.